LinkedIn is filled with job opportunities and profiles that are great and inspiring. You may be curious to check them out but scared that LinkedIn will notify the owner that you have viewed them. All LinkedIn profiles are set to be public by default, but send a notification if someone views them.
Suppose there was a way you could view a LinkedIn profile anonymously. There is one, and it is quite possible and easy to do so, and you can view LinkedIn profiles without an account.
Here, we will explain how you can successfully view someone’s LinkedIn profile without alerting them.
If you search for someone on LinkedIn, will they know?
Yes, they will be notified that you have viewed their profile. You may, however, not want your connections being notified about you viewing their profile, especially:
- If you are looking into competitors’ or other people’s profiles to boost your profile.
- Your profile needs an update, and you don’t want people to view you
- You are researching potential clients or employers. It is important to note that a good profile may make them want to see you.
Read: Can you find out who visited your Facebook profile?
Browsing a LinkedIn profile anonymously
When you choose to browse profiles anonymously, you will appear in that person’s Who’s Viewed Your Profile section as “LinkedIn Member – This person chose to be shown as anonymous.”
Follow these steps to view a LinkedIn profile without alerting the profile owner:
- Launch the LinkedIn website or app on your device.
- Select your Me profile icon on the upper right corner of the screen.
- Tap on Settings & Privacy on the drop-down menu.
- Tap on Visibility.
- Tap on the Profile Viewing option.
- You will be provided options of what other LinkedIn users will see when their profiles are viewed. Select Anonymous LinkedIn member.
Choosing this anonymous mode will erase your viewer history and allow you to view the profiles discreetly. It also means you will no longer see who viewed your LinkedIn profile.
LinkedIn also has a special feature that allows you to regulate your activity. You can customize your profile settings to allow your connections to see what you have chosen to show them. No further information about you will be shared with the profile owner you are viewing.
With a premium LinkedIn account, you can navigate in private mode and still view the people who have visited your profile within 90 days. This feature is not available in the basic account. It is, however, similar to the basic account since you cannot view the names of the profiles that have anonymously viewed your profile.
Activate your LinkedIn private mode
LinkedIn is a beneficial professional platform for connecting with companies and organizations and building professional relationships.
Unfortunately, most people have LinkedIn accounts to view other profiles, which alerts them when you do by default. It can be very unpleasant, especially when you don’t want people being notified that you have viewed the profile.
Luckily, the instructions above will take you through what you need to browse LinkedIn profiles anonymously. That way, you can keep your privacy in check and still navigate people’s notifications.
Stephanie is a tech writer with over 3 years of experience covering How To’s, Troubleshooting, and many other topics related to iOS, Windows, and Android. When she isn’t writing, Stephanie is either walking her dog or traveling.