How to cancel your iCloud storage plan without an iPhone

Does your iCloud storage subscription offer more storage than you need? You have the option to cancel or downgrade. This article will take you through the process of canceling your iCloud storage plan without an iPhone.

If you backed up more data than the plan you want to downgrade, iCloud may stop working, and you may lose some crucial data. So, clear the excess content until the remaining data can fit into the new plan.

How to cancel your iCloud storage plan on an iPad or iPod

  • Launch the Settings app on your device.
  • Tap on Your Account Name at the top of the screen.
  • Tap on iCloud.
  • Tap on Manage Storage.
  • Tap on Change Storage Plan.
  • Tap on the Downgrade Options.
  • Enter your Apple ID Password.
  • Select the Free 5 GB Plan.
  • Select a lower storage amount from the list if you want to downgrade.
  • Tap on Done.

READ: Why won’t my pictures load from an iCloud link?

Downgrade or cancel iCloud subscription on Mac

  • Open your Apple Menu on Mac.
  • Select System Preferences and click on the Apple ID (if you’re using macOS Mojave or an earlier version, you don’t have to click the Apple ID).
  • Click on iCloud.
  • Select Manage.
  • Click on Change Storage Plan.
  • Click on the Downgrade Option to open the menu.
  • Enter your Apple ID Password.
  • Click on Manage.
  • To cancel, choose the Free 5GB plan but to downgrade, select a lower subscription plan.
  • Click Done.

How to cancel or downgrade your iCloud storage plan on a Windows PC

  • First, install the iCloud Storage app on your Windows PC.
  • Open the iCloud for Windows app on your Windows PC.
  • Click on Storage.
  • Select Change Storage Plan.
  • Click on the Downgrade Options.
  • Type in your Apple ID password.
  • Click on Manage.
  • To cancel your current subscription, select the Free 5GB Plan.
  • To downgrade your plan, select a lower subscription.
  • Click Done.

READ: How to unsend an iCloud email

If I cancel my iCloud storage plan, will I lose everything?

First, when you cancel or downgrade your iCloud storage plan, the changes will take effect at the end of your current subscription.

Second, canceling your iCloud storage plan means you’ll lose access to the following:

  • iCloud Family sharing
  • iCloud Private Relay
  • Homekit secure video support
  • Hide My Email
  • Custom email domain

Third, if you subscribed to a plan by mistake, you can request a refund if you cancel without using the plan within 14 days.

After canceling and the plan expires, you won’t be able to access the excess data in iCloud. For instance, if you had 20 GB of data in iCloud, you’ll only access 5GB of that data since that’s what your new plan affords you.

Unfortunately, Apple can delete the extra 15 GB of data lying idle in iCloud after 180 days of inactivity.

Can you cancel the iCloud storage plan on an Android phone?

You can’t cancel or downgrade your iCloud storage subscription on Android because there is no iCloud app for Android devices.

How to clear iCloud storage

To clear space on iCloud, you can delete backup data from devices you don’t use. Follow the steps below:

  • Open Settings on your device.
  • Tap Apple ID > Manage Storage > Backups.
  • Select the device(s) you don’t use anymore and tap Delete Backup.
  • Also, go to the photo app and delete the unwanted media.

Conclusion

Canceling or downgrading your iCloud plan is simple. However, you must follow the right steps to avoid losing your data.

The best part is that you can use different devices. So, even without iPhone, you can still turn off iCloud storage on a computer.

READ: How to automatically forward iCloud emails to Gmail

css.php